Eaven Austin

Name:  Eaven Austin

Age: 19

Hometown: Lancaster SC

College: Lenoir-Rhyne University (Hickory NC)

Year in School: Sophomore

Major: Psychology

Favorite movie: Anything Marvel/Coming To America

Favorite TV show: Family Guy

If you were an animal, what would you be?

Lion

What are you doing at the foundation this summer?

I am reviewing the J. Marion Sims Foundation’s 20 year history of grant making, and seeing how those grants have helped grantees and specific organizations over that time frame. I’m also looking at how we can continue to develop and move forward through community outreach and grant making.

In what ways has this job surprised you thus far?

I didn’t expect it to be quite this intense; it is not the stereotypical internship. This internship requires you to be a part of the J. Marion Sims Foundation staff and to analyze data at a high level.

What is your favorite part of working for the J. Marion Sims Foundation?
My favorite part would be the interaction with my fellow interns and the time we have to get to know each other as a staff. Everyone here genuinely cares about each other and that creates a positive and productive work environment.

What do you plan to do after college, and in what ways do you think this internship will help you towards that goal?

Long term, I want to eventually have my own psychiatry practice and become an active member in the community through philanthropy. This internship has opened the door for me to diversify my interactions in the community. It has also taught me how to do outreach in the community, and how to adjust my vision to where it caters solely to the needs of the community.

What words of advice do you have for future interns?

You will get out of this experience what you put into it, and this is a chance for your voice to be heard and for you to create positive changes in the community in which you work and live.

What is your favorite quote?

“Don’t gain the world and lose your soul; wisdom is better than silver or gold” –Bob Marley

Source: Eaven Austin

