Hannah Knight

Blog PhotoName: Hannah Knight

Age: 20

Hometown: Lancaster, South Carolina

College: University of South Carolina-Columbia (Go Gamecocks)

Year in School: Junior

Major: Middle Level/Secondary Education (Math and Science)

If you were sent to a deserted island and could only bring three things, what would you bring?

  1. My Eno
  2. Effie Spears (preferably after she finishes Medical School)
  3. A boat to get me off the island

What’s your favorite movie?  Toy Story (all of them)

Where’s the coolest place you’ve ever been?  Roatan, Honduras

What are you doing at the foundation this summer?

Everything Teachers’ Pet Grant. Reading old Board Minutes to determine the original goal of the grant program, analyzing recent grants to see what the foundation is now funding for teachers, and deciding how the program can be enhanced during this time of transition to community engagement.

In what ways has this job surprised you thus far?

Only at J. Marion Sims are you given the opportunity to hike to see the annual blooming of the spider lilies, take a walking historical tour of the Red Rose City, and create a hype video about why your hometown is great.

What is your favorite part of working for the J. Marion Sims Foundation?

I love seeing just how much the foundation genuinely cares about the community. I have experienced, first hand, the board, staff, and interns spending many hours, traveling many miles, and having many conversations with the common goal of engaging the community and creating a sense of pride in our hometowns.

What do you plan to do after college, and in what ways do you think this internship will help you towards that goal?

I plan to begin my career as a teacher in South Carolina, but I don’t see myself staying in the classroom forever. I am interested in other areas of education and possibly even a political position that allows me to advocate for education.

This internship has provided me with valuable connections to people in Lancaster, surrounding counties, South Carolina, as well as several other states in the South East.

What words of advice do you have for future interns?

Don’t be shy.

Be confident in what you know.

And most importantly, be willing to learn.

What is your favorite quote?

As a former soccer player, my favorite quote is, “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” ~Wayne Gretzky

