Jared Hayes

Name:   Jared Hayes

Age: 20

Hometown: Kershaw, SC

College: USC- Lancaster

Year in School: Junior

Major: Nursing

What kind of bear is best?

Black Bear, because they eat beets.

Which character in Star Wars is your favorite?

Anakin/Darth Vader

What is your favorite animal?

Chicken

What are you doing at the foundation this summer?

I am doing research on community indicators for our footprint. We want to use this data to try and find out what Lancaster and the surrounding areas need most, and where we are successful.

In what ways has this job surprised you thus far?

Just the amount of trust the staff here puts in us. They give us such important tasks and let us run with them, and do our own thing. We come up with our own ideas, and solutions and they are always so supportive. It isn’t grunt work here, we are actually making a meaningful contribution.

What is your favorite part of working for the J. Marion Sims Foundation?

I would have to say the people. The staff here are amazing, and I’ve made friends for life with the interns. The people I have met outside of this foundation are awesome too. They are community leaders, and are such good role models and mentors to have.


What do you plan to do after college, and in what ways do you think this internship will help you towards that goal?

I plan to work in a hospital, and help those who need it while furthering my education. This internship has helped me to better understand the community around me and it opened my eyes to problems that we are facing today.

 

What words of advice do you have for future interns?

Have fun and make connections. Working here is an awesome experience and you learn so much, but you should leave here with great memories and connections in the community. I’ll always remember laughing with the interns and staff

What is your favorite quote?

The only thing necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing

