Elizabeth Howe

Name:  Elizabeth Howe

Age: 21

Hometown: Great Falls, SC

College: Columbia College

Year in School: Senior (Yay!)

Major: Communication Studies

Minor: Public Relations

What is your favorite Disney character and why? Goofy is my favorite Disney character because I relate to him on so many different levels.

Describe your perfect date?

I think Miss Rhode Island said it best, “That’s a tough one. I’d have to say April 25th. Because it’s not too hot, not too cold, all you need is a light jacket.”

What are you doing at the foundation this summer?

This summer, I am reviewing the results of the recent Give Local Campaign in addition to planning for 2017.   I have also helped the other interns with collaborative projects and with our new Sims Talks initiative.  Over the past few weeks, I have learned so much about writing, communication, and event planning.

In what ways has this job surprised you thus far?

I had no idea that the city of Lancaster had so much to offer! Everyone is so friendly and eager to see each other succeed.

What is your favorite part of working for the J. Marion Sims Foundation?

The people in this foundation and within our footprint are just amazing. I am definitely a better person than I was when I started this internship. I love coming to work every day and hanging out with these crazy people.

What do you plan to do after college, and in what ways do you think this internship will help you towards that goal?

After college, I really can see myself in the nonprofit sector. This summer has taught me that I am passionate about my community and giving back—which is what really makes me happy.

What words of advice do you have for future interns?

Future interns: smile a lot and really put yourself out there—failing is okay!

What is your favorite quote?

For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.- Audrey Hepburn

